I’m back!!

I know, I know it’s been a LONG time since I’ve posted and I’m not the world’s most reliable blogger (at least this blog).  But I’m going to do better.  I think collaboration with others is important and sharing ideas/thoughts even more important.  Well, to do that, I NEED TO POST.  I’ve actually been thinking a lot about it since the new year and I’m going to try and post once a week, at least.  I’m going to start there and after that, who knows.

I hate to make excuses but I think one of the reason I haven’t posted is “information overload”.  I think most of us can identify with that.  You know, having something like 130 RSS feeds, getting magazines a couple times a month in the mail and not having the time, or notion to read them all.  For me a degree of guilt comes with all of that.  I would LOVE to be able to sit down and read, read, read but I don’t.  Instead I choose to watch shows on TV with my husband, work or just enjoy life a little more.  I started cleaning things a bit last night getting rid of those feeds that I don’t read much or where people haven’t posted for over a year.  I’m not sure how many feeds I have not but I might be under the 100 mark.  I’ve got my magazines stacked and ready to read and my notebook next to it to take notes.  🙂  My husband and I have also agreed to turn the TV off from 6-8pm too so that’s going to help too.

Here’s to things picking up and posts/knowledge improving.

2 Responses

  1. Yay! Glad to see you posting again.

    Info overload is HARD. You have to be ruthless in what feeds/other things you read.

    I’ve always subscribed to a large number of RSS feeds – 1500 was my max, and I’m at about 500 right now. Here’s how I tame them:

    1. Organize them into folders/tags by topic. I also create a “Short List” of feeds that I know I will always want to read, no matter what. Why do this? It lets you “mark all as read” folder by folder when you get behind, without the fear of missing out on something you REALLY want to read (because that one’s in your Short List).

    2. Every once in a while, go through your feed list, and dump stuff. I call this pruning, and it can be hard if, like me, you have “fear of missing something”. 🙂 I regularly dump stuff that’s not a full text feed, posts to often, never posts anything interesting, or I’m just plain bored with. Make a backup of your reading list (export to OPML) first, and then start chopping!

  2. Man, you’re fast. It’s been so long since I’ve posted I didn’t think anyone would still have me on their feed list.

    I hear ya about the organization, I did the folders things from the beginning. I couldn’t imagine not having them in folders.

    Pruning the other day did feel good but yeah, I also felt the “what if I miss something important” twinge.

    I think the really important piece to it all is identifying those feeds you can’t possibly live without and focus on them. No one in their right mind is going to be able to read it all, all the time. I think for me now, it’s a matter of taking the time 🙂

Leave a Reply

