Web and Social Networking

You know I’ve been a blogger for several years and really like the idea of the whole thing. I love that I can share with my family what I’m up to and how things are going. It’s a little passive, I know, but it’s great because I stink at making the monthly or weekly phone calls to family to tell them what I’m up to. So… blogging.

When I moved to a new group in the company I once worked for I was challenged by a colleague, who was an early adopter of technology and rich media, to put my professional thoughts down on topics. She felt I had something to share with others and really encouraged me to share in this webisphere. So I did, and here it is.. of course this is the second version of it all.

So where does this lead? Ok, my point is this. I love the web and social networking. Because of this medium I’ve had the opportunity to hook up with some great people. I’ve been working on a project for the company I now work for that entails determining authoring tools for us as a group. Because of this medium (the web etc) I’ve been able to hook up with some great people like Steve Case and talk with him about different authoring tools and LMSs and LCMSs. He in turn has led me to other people that use LMS’s etc that I can talk to and get a real commentary on the tool(s) they’re using. It’s so much more valuable than just talking to vendors because they’re always going to tell you their tool is the best. I’m just so excited about this all. It’s great to be making connections with people around the globe and networking with others with common interests. It’s great too because I have to wonder, if not for the web and blogging, would this have been possible? Would our spheres of contacts really reach as far as they do? It’s an exciting time for sure.

Leave a Reply

